Hello!

I’m Michele. Thank you for taking the time to read my letter. I can’t imagine what you’re going through. I’m in awe of the courage you have to make this decision. People throw words around so much that they sometimes lose meaning, but you truly are brave and courageous, no matter what you decide to do. I am very interested in getting to know you and hearing about your wishes for your child. I want your child to have the opportunity to explore her dreams in a loving environment filled with laughter. I’m excited to maintain contact with you if that is what you want.

I have always known that I want to adopt a baby almost the same way many women know they want to carry their own child. Adopting a child is my first choice in creating a family. I’m 39 years old and I work as an occupational therapist with kids and adults. Basically, I help people recover from injuries and illnesses so they can do everything they want to. I set my own days and hours and never have to work weekends. My schedule is flexible so I can be available whenever necessary. My mother lives ten minutes away and will be the primary caretaker at my house while I’m at work.

I live by myself on Long Island in a 2 story house with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a beautiful fenced in yard. My friends and family live nearby and I see them often. My aunt even lives 2 doors down from my mom in the same condo building! I grew up in an apartment and always dreamed of having a yard. I tell people that I bought a yard and it came with a house!

In my time off from work I enjoy having friends and family over for a BBQ, going to amusement parks, the beach or pool, going to museums and taking road trips. I like to cook and could definitely use a little helper! I also enjoy the theater and exploring NYC, where one of my brothers lives. It’s only half hour away by car or train. I look forward to my visits with my other brother and his family in Florida, where they moved 3 years ago from NY. My niece is 10 and my nephew is 5. There’s nothing I enjoy more than spending time with them! Jasmine, my niece, nicknamed me “Shell Shell” when she was 3. It stuck and now my whole family calls me that!

I really look forward to hearing from you so we can get to know each other. I hope to make this process a little easier for you.

Sincerely,

Michele

My Story


I was born in Queens, NY in 1974. I have twin brothers 2 years younger than me. One is married with a 10 year old girl, Jasmine, and a 5 year old boy, Joshua. You will see a lot of them in my pictures! I spend as much time with them as I can. I was raised in a housing project in Queens where I lived from the time I was 1 year old until I left for college at 18. My mother was an English teacher but she had to stay home with the 3 of us. My dad didn't earn a lot of money so we lived in the projects. I made a couple of great friends there and learned about street smarts. I managed to stay out of trouble and focus on school. I knew that if I wanted a better life for myself I would have to earn it. I wanted to be an occupational therapist and I was accepted into a beautiful school in Connecticut. I worked 2-3 jobs while I was in school and stayed every summer to take classes and get ahead. I graduated from college with my degree in occupational therapy and decided to stay in Connecticut and rent an apartment with a friend. My parents had divorced while I was in college but I remain close with both of them and see them often. I lived in Connecticut for 3 more years before moving to Boston where I have friends and extended family. One of my brothers moved there about a year after I did. I had a great time living in Boston for 3 years but I missed my immediate family. I decided to move back to NY but my brother stayed another 2 years because he met my sister in law. I saved money and bought a condo when I was 30. After living there for 7 years I decided it was finally time to live in a house. I had been dating men throughout my 20s and 30s, some seriously, but none of those relationships led to marriage. I decided not to wait any longer and sold my condo so I could buy a house. I love my house and I enjoy having friends and family over to sit in the yard and BBQ in the summer or come over to watch a movie and cook dinner in the winter. I'm settled and have a great support system. My mother and aunt live 10 minutes away, my dad is 20 minutes away and my single brother is half hour away in the city. I have great friends all within 20 minutes from my house. I have worked hard all my life and always will. I try to be a good person every day and do what I can to contribute to society. I've always wanted to be a mom and I would instill the same values that were taught to me and that have gotten me as far as they have. But what's most important is that she will know she is loved.